Notre Dame Brian KellyEddie Robinson was the Head Football Coach at Grambling State University in Louisiana for 57 years.  He remains the second winningest coach in NCAA Division I football behind Joe Paterno.  His overall record was 408 -165.

He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1997.

Over 200 of his players went on to play professional football.  Coach Robinson set the standards for a at least 3 generations of  young athletes.

Any award bearing his name is high praise indeed.

The annual award is presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) which has honored the nations’ outstanding collage coach since 1957.

Eddie Robinson has been the FWAA’s coaching namesake for the past 15 years. The Fiesta Bowl joined the FWAA a year later as the sponsor of the award.

This year the committee was presented with an outstanding group of candidates for the coveted Coach of the Year Award.  The decision could not have been easy.

Kevin Sumlin, in his first year at Texas A&M, did an amazing job utilizing Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Manziel to a season that kept Aggie fans on the edges of their seats.  Brand new coach, freshman quarter back, first season competing in the legendary SEC West and they come out of it at 10-2. Not bad!

Bill Snyder of Kansas State finished the season at 11-1 losing only to Baylor late in the season and now standing fifth in the BCS Rankings.  The Wildcats will take on the Oregon Ducks on January 3 in the Fiesta Bowl.

Will Muschamp, in only his second year with the Florida Gators, led them to an

11-1 record in 2012 losing only to SEC rival Georgia.  The Gators will be playing in New Orleans at the Sugar Bowl on New Year’s Day against Louisville.

Heavy company, but the 2012 Coach of the Year Award went to Notre Dame Head Football Coach Brian Kelly.  In his third year at South Bend, Kelly has led the Irish to their first undefeated season since 1988, their first BCS #1 ranking since 1993 and their first ever berth in the BCS title game.  Coach Kelly joins a stellar group of Notre Dame coaches to have won the award such as Ara Parsegian, Lou Holst and Charlie Weis.  Next up for the Irish is the National Championship game against Alabama on Jan. 7 in Miami.  Good Luck Coach Kelly!